• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

engagement ring design stolen

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dawnlutter

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Jersey
I am a resident of NJ. I designed my dream engagement ring at an early age (12). When I got engaged at age 23, my then fiancee brought my design to a jeweler to have it made. When he was given a quote, he declined to have it made as it was too expensive. Ten years later, I have discovered my EXACT engagement ring is being mass produced and sold as an "original" with a different jeweler. Do I have any right to my original design? Can I tell this jeweler to stop selling my unique ring? With the rings already sold, can I claim a royalty? I can prove the design is mine as I still have my artwork from 20 years ago.

LdiJ

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Jersey
I am a resident of NJ. I designed my dream engagement ring at an early age (12). When I got engaged at age 23, my then fiancee brought my design to a jeweler to have it made. When he was given a quote, he declined to have it made as it was too expensive. Ten years later, I have discovered my EXACT engagement ring is being mass produced and sold as an "original" with a different jeweler. Do I have any right to my original design? Can I tell this jeweler to stop selling my unique ring? With the rings already sold, can I claim a royalty? I can prove the design is mine as I still have my artwork from 20 years ago.
Was your design truly unique? Consult an attorney.

dawnlutter

yes, it was definitely a one-of-a-kind. I just wanted to know if I actually have a case and that I should consult an attorney.

dmcc10880