• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Company with similiar name claims infringement on their trademark

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Roaky

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I am a college student and have been operating a small computer repair company locally to make ends meet. I have a few small offices as clients, several individuals, and some occasional new work that pops up. I registered as a sole proprietorship and filed a fictitious name about three years ago for my work.

Recently I received an email and letter from a lawyer representing a company with a similar name that is demanding that I cease operating under my current name and let my domain expire. My company is *blank* computer technologies (I don't want to share the exact name for anonymity's sake, but its a common noun, I've seen dozens of other businesses with it). The company with the trademark is named *blank* electronics. I do PC and laptop repair as well as regular networking, they are an international provider of cables and high end server infrastructure equipment apparently. My domain is *blank*computertechnologies.com and theirs is *blank.com. I am in Florida, they are located in Colorado.

They claim to have had their trademark since the 40's.
As our names are significantly different overall, our business types and scales are completely different, and considering that I have no resources worth suing for do they have a significant case against me?

Would contacting their lawyer and explaining my position and intent benefit me or weaken my position? Should I offer to sell the name and domain to them for a few hundred dollars?