• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

High-Traffic Website Using My Photo W/O Permission

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dharvell

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Michigan, Ottawa County

I am a full time photographer specializing in portraiture and wedding photography. However, in my free time, I enjoy photographing landscapes and cityscapes.

As the complexity and beauty of city skylines can keep me fascinated for hours, I did a Google Images search for "city skylines". This search led me to a well known, high-traffic website that gives very useful detail on cities and their surrounding communities. This site also features a message board where registered members can post their own photography of all things city related.

One forum thread was purposed for members to post the top 3 skylines in their state. Being from Michigan, I was curious what members would post for the top 3 Michigan skylines. To my surprise, the author of that particular post used a photo of mine of the Grand Rapids, Michigan skyline. To verify that this photo was, indeed, mine and not a crazy coincidence, I looked at the properties of the image (the image was directly taken from my photo blog, as it turns out) and the EXIF data (which showed that the photo was scanned from film, using an EPSON scanner, the type of scanner that I used to scan directly from film negative). That nailed it, the image is, indeed, mine.