• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is rejiggering an algorithm considered Fair Use.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

arirangkid

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

Hello everyone. I did a search and couldn't find an answer to my exact problem. I am a physician, I am making an iPhone application that takes clinical care algorithms that have been published in medical journals as "flowcharts" and reworking them into a "calculator" using the iphone. These algorithms are varied (I don't want to go into specific details) but they presumably publish them because this is the standard of medical practice that they would like the medical community adhere to and this is how they promote them.

Here is what I am doing. My goal is the make it much easier for physicians to actually utilize these published flowcharts and in so doing, provide better care that adheres to best practices. To do this, I am collecting a bunch of these algorithms and integrating the into an app for the iPhone. Instead of having to deal with a crazy flowchart, you just click a few buttons and "WahLah!", you have your action plan.

So here are my questions:

1) Is this considered "Fair Use" because I am reworking the algorithms to work more like a calculator, although I do plan on referencing the original sources and will be quoting blocks of text from the various papers. You will not see the actual flowcharts that were published. Also, I do believe that there is an argument that this would provide a significant benefit to the public (patients) because I am making key information more easily accessible to these physicians.