• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Artist in Michigan, not credited in Artwork published in widely available Book.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cpcpcp

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Michigan

I am an artist who did a collaborative drawing with another artist that I discovered has been printed in a widely available book.

The artwork is only credited to the other artist, even though this artist told the publisher that I did half of the drawing while discussing the work being printed in the book. How should I handle this?

I am upset because had this artwork been correctly labeled as a collaboration between both the other artist and I, it could have helped me generate more employment opportunities as this book is available in many big book stores.

The book publisher is in Pennsylvania, but I live in Michigan (not sure how that effects laws dealing with this..)

Would I be wasting my time dealing with this legally, or should I peruse this?
How should I proceed? Thanks for any advice you can offer me!

Last edited:

quincy

Did you have a written collaboration agreement with the other artist? Was the drawing registered with the U.S. Copyright Office showing you as co-author?

cpcpcp

Hi Quincy - I can get a written agreement with him made up, but I do have the chain of emails back and fourth discussing our collaboration as well.

As a side note, I have never registered a drawing with the copyright office -- is this something I should do with every drawing I make?

quincy

To answer your second question first: