• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Two copyright questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

fls133

concerning Tennessee or US copyright laws in general.

I am a commercial photographer dealing with two different situations. What is common in both is that the clients asked for all rights or transfer of copyright to their organizations. I am usually against this, but I could not afford to lose the assignments, plus in both cases there is no way that I could really use the images in the future for myself.

Situation / Question 1: I have a long time client who has given us a lot of business over an 8-10 year period. I always told them that the images were theirs to use as much as they wanted, but recently they asked for a formal transfer of copyright on all past and future images that I produce for them. Again I cannot afford to lose the client, so I agreed and drew up a transfer, signed it, emailed it as a pdf. I asked that they sign it and return a copy for my records. They have not signed it and this was 3 months ago. Although, they have done some business with me since then, they are terrible about communicating via both email and phone. So the question is this: Is the agreement still valid if they do not sign it in a certain amount of time?