• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Copyright and Right of First Sale

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

EzzyBlack

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia

I am an author, not a particularly well known author, but I'm trying to get there.

I have self published works on many major sites, the titles are considered self-published, and I retain all copyright. In this instance the book manufacturer is called Createspace. My only agreement with that company is to sell on their own site and Amazon.com. Indeed they are wholly owned by Amazon and for distribution anywhere else I'm required to opt-in and pay a fee. I have not done this for any title.

I also sell my titles as e-Books. I was surprised to find a copy of my paperback then listed today on Barnes and Nobel. My first though was surprise, but hey, it can't hurt right.

The listing is blank. It's completely unprofessional, there is no cover image, there is no product description, just a listing for one of my novels priced at over $40! Hey I'm not THAT good :)

Investigation revealed that the book is being 'resold' by a company called Stork Media. Stork Media, of Phoenix MD does not seem to actually exist in any tangible way. Indeed the only way I found to contact them is via Amazon.com. Amazon won't even give me a real e-mail address, all mail must go through them.

Stork Media has thousands of titles for sale at enormous prices on Amazon. Pretty amazing for a company that doesn't exist.