• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fair Use of trademark on app at Amazon

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

vonkal

I am in Colorado

I am a developer for application for Android phones. These apps are for sale at various marketplaces on the internet, including the Amazon Appstore.

I recently submitted an app which has nutrition information for 300 restaurant menus. The main screen is populated with 300 logos belonging to the restaurants. When you select a restaurant logo, the program shows you the menu with all the nutrition data.

There are at least 10 apps on the Amazon Appstore which have exactly the same logo layout and do similar things, showing nutrition information from the same restaurants.

Now I received an email from Amazon saying they will not list my new app unless I can prove to them I have the rights to use these logos.

My question is not weather I can or can't use the logos, but rather why are they excluding me while allowing others. (I know for a fact that the others do not have permission to use the logos either, because I am one of them with another app.)

If you would like to see the apps I am referring to you can see them here:
(Just look at the screen shots provided on the page which shows the apps screens.)

Amazon.com: WW Restaurants Points (Plus): Appstore for Android

Amazon.com: Fast Food Calorie Counter: Appstore for Android

I hope someone can help.
ThanksWhat is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

FlyingRon

Fair use doesn't enter into it. Amazon is free to set their own arbitrary rules to use the appstore.

vonkal