• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Images grabbed from my site

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

photo guy

I recently found images from my photography site (I am a Freelance Photographer) on a business's Facebook Page as their avatar.
I have never posted said images anywhere but my website. On my site it clearly states. That usage of images without permission is theft.
Can I do anything?

photo guy

They have started pulling the images as soon as I gave them notice of legal action. I took screen shots of each usage of the images for future reference. A bill has been sent. Stand by....

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
They have started pulling the images as soon as I gave them notice of legal action. I took screen shots of each usage of the images for future reference. A bill has been sent. Stand by....
A bill for what?

photo guy

No. The images they used were literally taken from my Professional site. He admitted that his site admin. Copied and pasted my images from my site to his (got it in writing).
According to law the images are my property as soon as the shutter snaps regardless of if I was hired to do a job or not. Unauthorized use without consent is a violation.
I always get a model release from my "models" as well.

Just curious...have you dealt with this before?
I always appreciate input and honesty.

Thanks

Zigner

How can you "bill" the other party for usage if you have no contractual relationship with the other party? :confused:

tranquility