• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Derivative infringement on unpublished, unpaid sketches.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

zoogiejab

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

About 2 years ago while still in art school I began sketching a logo for a gig on craigslist. We discussed compensation on the phone but I do not recall the agreement; being an eager student I probably offered to do the sketches for free. No contracts were signed to the point we got in the project I had not yet sought payment

In a period of a few days I sent 3 rounds of jpgs through email and eventually dropped the project with no notice to the client because I no longer had time for the project. The sketches were comprised of variations of my own handwriting done in Illustrator.

Fast forward to today—I have a full time graphic design position. My work was hiring more designers and I was reviewing portfolios and discovered the person in question had applied for the job. I looked at the person's portfolio and saw the project we had worked on was included. The logo bears a VERY similar look and feel to that of my sketches. Some characters are obviously lifted from the last sketch I had sent. The whole logo looks like a heavy-handed, inexact tracing of my original.

I did not register copyright for these sketches due to 1) ignorance and 2) thinking project was dead in water however there is email proof of our original correspondence including the jpg attachments; I also have sketchbooks full of my handwriting upon which this is based.