• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Copyright Question about Letters

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

F

FoxSMulder1013

I reside and work in Florida. I do Medical Billing and one task is to appeal health insurance denials. To do this, appeals letters are written, based on the type of denial. I have been doing this for more than 7 years. Over the years, these letters have been changed to reflect research performed by me on the particular subject, changes in statutes, administrative codes, etc. and they are re-worded gramatically to become more successful with the appeal. They also change each time, adding patient information and treatment that is pertinent to the appeal. My colleagues have asked for copies of these letters and naturally, I tell them that the letter will need to be changed to reflect their local laws.

A company has created a set of health insurance claims denials appeals letters. The binder they come in states they are copyrighted. These are business form letters that the user must change the header, date, adds a personal closing line and signature block, etc.

I purchased these letters on or about October 2000 to see how close they were with mine. Some of the letters are similar in wording to ones I created years before. After all, when telling an insurance company what the State Statutes says, there are only so many ways to word it, especially when quoting the statute.