• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

5 Major Differential Repairs in 28K Miles - Jeep

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mwoolf

I am a resident of Virginia.

My 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited has had 5 major drive train failures, each of which required either a replacement or rebuilding of a differential.

Differential Problem 1:

· September 20, 1997 – Vehicle purchased new from Dulles Jeep/Eagle in Leesburg Virginia, and was delivered with 428 miles.
· September 30, 1997 – Vehicle was returned to Dulles Jeep/Eagle for vibration and excessive noise from the front-end while driving. The mechanic reported no problem found, but the noise continued. Dealer agreed to contact Chrysler Service for assistance in resolution. Service Invoice #96256. Mileage was 750.
· October 24, 1997 – Conversation with Dulles Jeep/Eagle service advisor (Mack Stetler). Chrysler Service acknowledged a problem and was still looking for a solution. I logged a complaint with Chrysler Customer Service, file #4457301.
· November 18, 1997 - Vehicle was returned to Dulles Jeep/Eagle for a repair indicated for this problem by Chrysler Service. The front propeller shaft and universal joints were replaced under warranty. This fixed the vibration, but not the noise. Service Invoice #98089. Mileage was 2,025.
· November 26, 1997 - Vehicle was returned to Dulles Jeep/Eagle. The noise from the front end was getting worse. The mechanic said noise was not harmful, and that I should continue to drive the vehicle. Service Invoice #98379. Mileage was 2,230.