• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

customer won't pay

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

E

EMUMAN

minnesota. i am a plumber. we roto-rooted a sewer for a man. he was told before hand that we charge $100. per hr.
now he won't pay because he said it didn't do any good because he had to have the line replaced later. we have no written contract. if we take him to court will we win?

T

Third Party

I disagree. You have a case.

I am no attorney, but I must disagree with IAAL. Getting a contract signed per client would be too time consuming. If you are called for service, your intent is implied. You rendered a service on certain terms. Whether an oral contract or not, if there was agreement with consideration, then this is a contract. If the offeree wishes to not pay after this contract had been established, then they are in breach of contract. I good analogy would be you are a mechanic. You changed the oil on the car. Then the owner decides to replace the car with a new one because the current car is falling apart. He then doesn’t opt to pay any of his bills on the car. Obviously the owner still owes you for the services rendered. I recommend taking this person to court and sue for the bill plus court cost.