• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can a Restraining order be overturned? Please HELP

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

KelleyB

I'm in CA, I was recently served a restraining order by an X "boyfriend" because of a letter I wrote to him, very non- threatening, no intent of violence whatsoever, he just didn't like the content. He lied to the judge and said I had been harrassing him for the past 6 months. NOT TRUE!I simply sent him an email wishing him a happy birthday, he replyed with a "thank you". Not "leave me alone, don't write me again etc.. The judge didn't see his reply letter, she only saw my letters. Thats all. The other acusations are based on hearsay. I now have proof that he lied on the stand regarding a letter he had written me. Can the restraining order be overturned? Can I write to the judge with my findings, IS the letter from his X-best friend who actually wrote me the letter which he claims was written and sent w/o his permission enough to get this dropped?
I never had the chance to defend myself as the judge gave him the last word. I've been unjustly robbed of my freedom, restricted in my own state, if you will, and I want this overturned. Do I have to hire an attorney to get this overturned? Is that even possible, I know judges don't like being wrong. Please help.
Kelley

calatty