• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Was I treated unfairly? Do I have grounds to file a complaint?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

alawrence101

I am writing in regards to a very unfavorable encounter I had with two UW Madison campus police officers the other night (in Madison, WI). First of all, let me say that I'm an 18 year old student who will be of junior standing this fall, and I've never had a drink in my life. I won't touch drugs and I won't even take asprin for a headache.

I was with six of my friends sitting on one of the piers (all of us were completely sober and not causing any sort of disturbance) quietyly talking and enjoying the beautiful weather. I saw some bright lights shining on us, so I turned around and saw that it was the headlights on the bikes of two campus police officers as they rode by. I turned back around and didn't think anything of it until there was another light shining on me and a hand on my shoulder. It was one of the officers, and they asked me to come with them as they led me away from the shore to an open area under a street lamp. When I asked them why they were doing this to me, they informed me that I had looked at them like I "had something to hide". One of the officers then demanded my ID saying, "I know you're underage and you've obviously been drinking." The other officer then insisted that he could even smell this non-existent alcohol on my breath. They then started claiming that they thought they had both seen me throwing something into the lake which is a complete and utter lie.