• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

harassment from old neighbor

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

segmoti

Hi,
I am not sure in which category to post this message. I wanted to have some advice on the following matter. I am a resident of a apartment in a complex owned by a very big real estate company in Washington DC. I have staying here for last 2 years.
Leaving aside last 4-5 months, police has visited my apartment atleast 4-5 times to check for a complaint lodged by my neighbor (occupied by an single old lady) for drugs usage. The officers were very nice to me and were just performing their duty but apologized for the constant inconvenience caused. They had to frequent my house late at night. The lady has been constantly complaining about us to the police, property manager, employees managing the reception desks, other old people staying in the building about the drug usage.
Everyone, I mentioned above has been highly appreciative of our patience, behavior and know about the constant trouble this lady has been trying to cause us. During past several months everyone mentioned above have stopped listening to her consistent complaining.
4-5 months back, I spoke to the old lady and tried to explain her that she can come anytime to our apartment and check that we do not use any kind of drugs, which of course none of the people have been able to detect. She started crying and said ‘she cannot sleep but was extremely sorry for her behavior’. For next couple of months things were fine.