• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

forgery

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

R

rvrrunnr

I was hired by a couple to assist them in managing their owner/builder construction project. To include but not limited to submitting to their lender the necessary draw requests to draw funds to pay their construction bills. The draw request forms call for the homeowners signature. They live 80 miles away and it was difficult for me to meet with them to obtain the signature. I instead submitted the draw request with a copy of his original signature so as to expedite the process of obtaining the funds. As a contractor I allowed the homeowner use of my material vendor accounts so they could easily obtain materials as needed, so 99% of what was purchased to build the home was charged to me and I was responsible for payment to said vendors and subcontractors. Now that the project is nearly finished and 5 months past the agreed upon completion date they are possibly short of funds to complete the project due to various overruns of which they were told they would be responsible for. The homeowner is suspicious that I may have misused some of the money in his construction loan and is considering charging me with forging his signature on the draw request forms. I submitted to him all the receipts that were paid from the loan and they coincide with the funds disbursed from the loan indicating no misuse of funds. Can I be charged with forgery or anything else? This guy is a hot head and is looking to blame me for his inability to perform under the terms of our contract (owner/builder).

HomeGuru