• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can A College Change the Grade scale W/out Warning?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

F

Fluegalbinder

I am now a junior nursing student at the Medical College of Ohio. The College was put on acedemic probation and their answer to this was to change the grading scale by an increase of 6points for each letter grade. What this means is that a 70% in no longer a "C", a 76% is, and so on. Now the did let the seniors stay under the old system but we juniors are just as in debt in student loans as the seniors. The agreement we signed with the school of nursing is the same that the seniors signed, which agrees, and is clearly stated that 70% is a "C". This change may not seem like much but it has already cut our class number substantially, and will continue to do so unless something is done. It doesn't seem right that we should be allowed to choos this profession, sign the agreement, draw thousands of dollars in student loans, and in most of our cases cary a 3.5 GPA or better and then have the rug pulled out from under us. This same school also approved the student loans that alot of us are now responsible for, with no relief in sight. Could someone please let me know if we have a case? Your reply would be greatly appreciated. Nate

D

dorenephilpot

Check the school handbook and see if their actions contradict anything in there.

Otherwise, I'd say the change is perfectly legal.

Sounds like you'd better study hard and improve that GPA!

D

dst

Maybe this should be in another section