• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

spousal abuse

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

F

Friends

I have two friends that were fighting...things got out of hand and he pushed her and she fell. She didn't fall hard nor did she get hurt. Drinking was also involved. She called 911, he took off. The police came and she said she didn't want to press charges and she also told them she wasn't hurt. He thinks he still can be arrested. In know the laws are city by city, they live in Petaluma, CA. Can he be arrested without her pressing charges?

D

Doomflame

I am not a lawyer, but I have studied law for quite some time. It is to my understanding that if she doesn't press the charges, then he has nothing to worry about. Only the victim can press charges in a domestic matter like this. Make sure that he knows that it can never happen again.

R

rookie

I disagree with the advise you were given. If the officer sees and believes there was violence, especially, domestic violence, the officer is legally obligated on behalf of the people of CA to send the report to the DAs office.

The DAs office will probably drop the case due to lack of evidence, but it is all at the DA's discresion.

I have been in similar situations and my spouse was taken into custody, even though I refused to press charges. He was later released, prior to seeing the judge, and all charges were dropped.

F

Friends

Okay, my friend has been arrested, just a few hours ago. The police took him to county jail and said he has to stay there until he gets a hearing within 48 hours. How can I get him out now?

R

rookie