• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

education college

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

E

edmundnoveshen

Hi I live in IOwa City, Iowa and I am a student at the university of Iowa's education college. Last semester I had to leave school due to a health problem. Subsequently I had an incomplete class on my record. I was unable to retake the class this semester due to time conflicts but I wanted to retake it. An administrator at the college came to me and told me that I could finish the coursework for the incomplete and then go on to student teach. I was unable to finish the coursework. The administrator went to the professor with whom I had an incomplete and coerced her into changing the grade incomplete to a c. The professor with whom I had the incomplete complied. Several days later I received an e-mail from the administrator who had gone to the prof. and had the incomplete changed to a c which stated that she was going to remove my name from her list of students and do nothing more to help me. I vehemently opposed this and told her in no uncertain terms that I was still enrolled in the college and had every intention of finishing the program. She then brought me before a tribunal of herself and two profs. from the department who threatened to kick me out of the college for speaking rudely. They lectured me for quite some time and then told me that they weren't going to kick me out but that they would be watching me very closely while I student teach. I have this event recorded on tape, at their permission. I asked the administrator present at the meeting why she had changed my grade from an incomplete to a c and she told me that she had many things to do and was try