• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Separated for over a year.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

E

eveelynn

My husband and I have been separated since fall of 2000. He's been living in his own rented apartment since that time. I have been paying all household expenses since he moved out in 2000. That means I've been paying the mortgage, taxes, home equity loan, everything without a penny from him.

Now I'm ready to file my taxes as head of household for 2001. I want to claim the interest on the house payments, home equity loan, and property taxes since I've been the one paying all those things. I've been paying them through my own separate checking account at my own bank. My bank account has received only deposits from my employer. Everything I've paid I can prove was paid by me alone, with no money from my husband. He has contributed absolutely nothing towards any household expenses.

Can I claim the interest on the mortgage, home equity loan and property taxes, even though both of our names are on all of the above? It doesn't seem fair that he be rewarded for the money I paid all year. He has no problem with my claiming the interest and property taxes on my tax return because he knows he didn't pay anything towards these bills, and he also wants to do what is fair. I just want to know if it's legal. We live in Wisconsin.

Thanks for any advice.

vrzirn

Yes, you can do that. I filed in Ca. as " married, filing separately".