• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Financial Aid

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

sfreier

I am 18 from Wyoming and looking to file for financial aid (for college in Florida). To apply for financial aid you must use your parents tax returns. I was wondering if I could use my own tax returns if my parents WERE NOT claiming me as a dependent and I WAS claiming myself. That would make me elegable for a lot more financial help... correct?

Thanks,
Steven

J

justathought

I'm not a lawyer, but I've filled out quite a few financial aid forms... I wish what you are asking is true. I moved out before 18 and have claimed myself since, however the definition of a tax dependant is different from the definition of an educational dependant.

An educational dependant is anyone under a certain age (23, I believe) and single. Unless you fit these qualifications, the government thinks your parents *should* be contributing to your higher education, regardless of the case. Same theory when child support goes until the end of undergraduate study instead of the age of majority (18). Whereas a tax dependant is something like more than 50% of your living expenses are provided by someone else.