• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

taxes on gifts

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

chumpie

taxes on gifts and dependancy ques.

I hope someone can help me...I have been looking everywhere to find out if I have to report my gift income. I received about $6000 in gifts last year, I am a student, and had no other income. My parents want to claim me as a dependent, but apparently they can only do this if I made less than a certain amount of money...Can anyone please tell me if I have to file a tax return, and do these gifts affect my parents ability to claim me as a dependent? Please ANY information would be greatly appreciated.
Thank You

Last edited:

L

loku

You do not have to file any tax returns. There is no income tax on gifts received. The gifts could affect your parents deduction for you if you spent the money on your own support. They would be entitled to the deduction if they supplied more than half of your support. Only the money you actually spent on your own support is considered. Any money you received, which was not spent on your support is not considered. For more on this, see IRS Publication 17, Your Federal Income Tax, which you can download at the IRS site at: http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/forms_pubs/index.html

C

chumpie