• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

breach of contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

av1

I am a doctoral student and have been working on my dissertation for over 1 ½ years. I am working with a hospital which awarded my dissertation funding (~ $50,000) to do a research study. The hospital has a signed contract saying that they would support my study; with staff and financially till its completion. About 2 weeks ago they pulled my funding and there has been a breach of contract. The reasoning for denying continual funding was given to me as a "new policy" that the hospital has placed into effect that says they will no longer fund research that uses healthy participants. I am dumbfounded by this because wouldn't there be any grandfather clause which would allow me to complete my study? Furthermore, they have no issues or problems with my study, except for this new claus. I have spent hundreds of hours, not to mention taken out thousands of dollars in loans to stay in school and to complete this study. If they did not want to fund this study they should have told me 1 1/2 years ago and not have me invest my time and money. I am only 4 months away from graduating and now I am being told that because my research will not be complete, I cannot graduate. This means starting over for another 2 year looking for a new dissertation research and taking out more loans. I also know that those who have denied to continue funding have no idea on how this affects those involved. I have spent so much time with this research because this is my future career as it is to give me a doctorate degree when I have completed my dissertation. Now I have been pushed back another 2 years an