• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Freedom of Speech violation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

adrastea1121

I am a Pennsylvanian college student. In December, I made a comment, specifically, "I tell people not to come here because I think that most RAs on campus suck ass."

They sentenced me to 1 year probation, a 1,000 word essay, and 25 hours of community service.

Does this violate my Constitutionally-given right of expression? They say no, even though I specifically used the words "I think" and "most".

They constitute it as verbal abuse.

Any opinions would be appreciated.

Thanks.

E

Elvis

You suck -

Why would you slam your own school? Your lucky they didn't kick you out.

A

adrastea1121

Oh, I love the school - academically.. I just dont like RAs

E

Elvis

Do you dislike all RA's or is there a few that are jerks?

If you have a legitimate issue with the RA's you'd probably have more success in working with the school gov't than committing slander.

O

obscure

first amendment

Sounds like a first amendment violation to me. You did not attack anyone personally so you shouldn't have any form of peace disturbance. Of course the school won't be thrilled about having potential students ran off, but then what are your options on fighting them, is it worth hiring an attorney for. You have no monetary damages that I see, unless somehow they can wiggle the community service as a loss, but good luck.

D

dubhloaich

Woa.

You've got to be kidding?

I'm assuming this was some sort of college tribunal and not an actual state court that did this?

Let me guess, it must be a religiously affiliated small college?