• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

students harassing teacherss

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

T

teacher9999

I am a teacher in a public high school in Maryland. I have one student who is constantly disrupting class. Students have asked me to "kick him out" more often so that they can learn and do their work. In essence, because of this one student the other students' learning is being impaired.

The problem student is constantly cursing at me, telling me I am stupid, acting out, coming in late, and being disruptive. I have sent him to the administrators (vice principals) numerous times and nothing seems to happen to him/her. The student is not a "special education" student nor does he/she have a 504 plan. Because this student is constantly being sent back to class, seemingly without punishment, I am becoming very discouraged.

What legal action could I personally take against this student and/or parent(s)? Something needs to be done with this student. The constant harassment I have received must stop.

vrzirn

Many years ago, before medical school, I was a HS teacher. I had my share of miserable, angry kids whose parents were uncooperative and arrived at meetings with a major "attitude".It was easy to see the apple had not fallen far from the tree. School administration intervention was of no lasting value and I, in desperation, resorted to lots of honey instead of vinegar.