• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Defamation, Due Process, And Legal Remedy?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

Penny1212

I am a professor who seeks to rectify damage to my permanent records by a former and a current dean as well as by failing and/or malcontent students who have defamed me in writing with baseless allegations. One dean, in fact, solicited a written complaint from a disgruntled student six weeks after the student transferred from my class even though the student herself had not complained about me either in written or in verbal form until the dean not only telephoned her but also guided her in the use of specific language to use in the e-mail complaint (the dean doesn't deny her complicity).<P>I have kept detailed records and am currently attempting to expunge these letters from my permanent files. If I am unsuccessful (or even if I am successful) in their removal, do I have the basis for a lawsuit against my institution et al.? Finally, I was not given due process to confront the students over their allegations either before or after disciplinary letters accepting the students' allegations as fact were placed in my permanent file. Do I have a legal remedy for this failure?<P> Without any embellishment, I can assure the audience I have suffered this blight on an otherwise sterling academic career and record. Thank you so much for your response. Penny1212

JETX

Q1) "If I am unsuccessful (or even if I am successful) in their removal, do I have the basis for a lawsuit against my institution et al.?"
A1) Based on your post, no.