• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

2 states - where to file?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

DCJENKINS777

What is the name of your state? Texas - New Mexico

I am a video producer in Midland, TX. About 6 months ago a man called from Houston, TX (I'll call him Bob) Bob wanted to hire me to video tape his wedding in Hobb's New Mexico. Hobb's is about an 1 1/2 hour drive from here. Houston is about a 10 Hr Drive. I had the wedding date available so I told him I would do it. But I would have to charge him Milage in addition to my normal charge. He aggreed. He then filled out an online application that gives me the date, time, location, and who is responsible for paying. He then mailed me the $200 Deposit. I drove to Hobb's and video taped the wedding - Bob was curtious and seemed like a good guy. I returned to Midland and began editing the tapes. I finished the tapes and spoke to Bob on the phone I agreed to go ahead and send him the tapes and he would send me the check that same day. Normally I wait until I am paid to release the tapes. About a week later I contacted him to make sure he had recieved the tapes and to let him know that I had not yet recieved the check. He stated that he had recieved the tapes and that he and his wife were both very pleased with them. He also assured me that he had sent a check and I agreed to give it a few more days to get through the mail. A week later I had still not recieved the check. I called again and he said it must have gotten lost. He would send another check. It never arrived - I spoke to him once after that and offered that he could pay with a Credit card he said he couldn't and would send the check right away - it never a