• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Am I liable for unpaid freight bills

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

SamanthaCobos

Minnesota

I'm an interior designer. I purchased furniture directly from a manufacturer - I paid them for the furniture as well as the frieght charges. The furniture company canceled their contract/account with the freight company without paying the freight associated with my orders. Now the freight company is after me for the payment - they are saying if I do not pay by Aug 11 they will take me to small claims court. The feight bills add up to about $900 - I already paid the charges through the furniture manufacturer. The Freight company says they have this right and it is granted by the US Federal Highway Administration Authority (FHWA) and the US Department of Transportation (DOT). I can't find anything to support this and need help. Can they legally go after me? Do I have a case? Should I pay the freight and then go after the furniture manufacture? I can't get any information from the Department of Transportation - they directed me to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration - and then they told me to talk to a lawyer.

Please offer any advise.

Thank you,
Samantha Cobos
INTERIORS by Samantha Cobos

xylene

SamanthaCobos said:
Please offer any advise.
I am assuming the furiture was actually delivered bt the mover?

If so, than pay the mover the $900 charges, and sue the furniture manufacturer for the return of the money you paid them for that shipping plus whatever else brings you up to $900.

IF the order was not delivered by this carrier but another.

Tell the mover to pound sand.