• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Being threatened to sue over deposit for work.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lovebearsall

Florida

Hello all and thanks in advance for reading my post and for any advice you might leave! :D

I am new to this forum so please forgive if I missed something I should know.

I am an artist and was recently contracted for a job painting 12 murals. We never wrote or signed any contract so when I say contract it is indeed all verbal. I will refer to the person hiring me as JR. JR had me come in and view his business in Nov., he needed 4 murals painted, a logo wall mural and the walls painted in his new salon. I had put together a design and we talked about what colors, etc. I received a call a few days later stating that they could not use my services because I was not licensed. (I am not a business, just a fine artist! :p) I kindly accept and I offered to only do the murals (as I know of no license needed to paint murals) but I was refused. Ok, not a problem, I understand.

Fast forward two months, I receive another call from JR this January, he is wanting 12 murals painted (on canvas, 134 sq. ft. total) and he asked for a quote. I told him $25 per sq. ft. and charged a total of $3,350. He looked over the prices and told me it was out of his budget and counter offered $1,300+ more money for more detailed paintings and + supplies + free salon services (excluding 'tip'). Since he agreed to purchase supplies, I agreed to the price. I then asked for a $500 deposit with the rest payable upon completion.