• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Bought a car on craigslist. big trouble

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

budda117

Here's my situation:

I am a 19 year old college student in the DC/MD/VA area. I had been saving up for several months to get a car, and a few weeks ago

I finally got enough money to get one. I went on craigslist (yea, i know) because I could not find a dealership selling the car i

wanted for the amount i had. I found this guy who was selling a 1993 Honda Civic for $1500; i test drove it, had the engine looked at

and everything. It seemed like a good deal. On April 25th, I bought the Civic from him; i have a notarized bill of sale to prove it.

Here is where things get dicey. The guy who sold it to me had recently purchased it from someone else about a month ago. There were

temporary New York tags on the car (which in hindsight, I probably should have found weird because the guy lived in DC) and the tags

did not expire until May 16th. (Also, I dont know if this is relevant, but the temp tags had apparently blown off in the wind and the

guy reported them stolen before finding them laying somewhere. So I drove the car with the tag info taped to my back windshield with

STOLEN PLATES written above it).

Anyway, since the current tags didnt expire for another few weeks, I did not head directly to the Motor Vehicle Administration;

officially, my mother bought the car so it would be in her name and my insurance costs were lower, but she works so she couldnt take

off her job to go to the MVA. But since the car had temp tags on it and I had the sale information on me, I went ahead and got it