• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Bounced checks, bank fees...help!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

outlawfarm

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Kentucky

I sell horses for a living. A lady inquired on one of my ads a while back and she really wanted the horse. She paid me in 2 separate checks (I usually NEVER take personal checks but I felt like we had developed a friendship...stupid me!). I cashed them both at the same time. They both bounced. My bank account is severely overdrawn due to the checks bouncing. Is she responsible for the nearly 1000 in fees that have been imposed upon me?

Antigone*

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Kentucky

I sell horses for a living. A lady inquired on one of my ads a while back and she really wanted the horse. She paid me in 2 separate checks (I usually NEVER take personal checks but I felt like we had developed a friendship...stupid me!). I cashed them both at the same time. They both bounced. My bank account is severely overdrawn due to the checks bouncing. Is she responsible for the nearly 1000 in fees that have been imposed upon me?
$1000 ~ you had to have bounced nearly 30 checks in order to accrue that much in fees???:eek:

You can sue her, but winning a lawsuit and collecting the money are horses of a different color.

outlawfarm

Debit card didn't help...

Well, my husband uses his debit card like cash and we get charged 35 for each of those transactions as well as each check. I am fit to be tied!

Antigone*

Well, my husband uses his debit card like cash and we get charged 35 for each of those transactions as well as each check. I am fit to be tied!