• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can my former employer take these "fees" from my pay?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

alp18509

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

I am a photographer who worked as an independent contractor for a modeling agency. I never signed any contracts with this agency. While on a business trip to Dallas, I quit and left early. I left because I felt I was being mistreated by the owner of the company. We shared a room and she was drinking heavily, slamming suitcases, and muttering things about me under her breath. I tried to talk to her about this situation the next day and she ignored my first attempt then refused to speak the me after the second attempt. (She was on the phone but I feel it was an attempt to not speak to me.)

I bought my own ticket home and completed the work that I owed (photographs on Cds for the models) a week after leaving. This work totaled to $690. After multiple failed attempts to meet her and exchange the CDs for my check, I finally met in her office. She then said that I had to pay for the airfare she booked for me (there and back =$270) and also for any reshoots that she may have to pay a new photographer to do. ($150) The model signs a contract with the agency and it states that if the model is unhappy with the photos for any reason, the agency will reshoot them for free. Since I am no longer apart of the agency, this is no longer my responsibility. We could not come to an agreement, so she told me to take the CDs and think about it.