• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

confused about my credit card debt trial

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ricsi007

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? State is Illinois

Im new to site and was hoping to get some advice on what happened to me at my trial or what can or should I do if anything at this point. I'm going to skip to my trial which was today and which was a very confusing event. I represented myself from start and filed all paperwork and motions and so i get to my trial date and time. Im confident im going to win after all my preparation and i walk into court 9:10am on my 9:30 court time. Talk to cleark to let them know that im here and ready for trial. Cleark tells me that the plaintiff's attorney was just here and dismissed the case. Well that is perfectly fine but I want to make sure that my case is dismissed with prejudice since the plaintiff has 0% chance of winning or proving that im liable in anyway. So cleark tells me to run after the attorney who she described to me and bet the order she was handed, I follow and find the persone described to me but the attorney tells me that she got nothing to do with my case. I go back to court and tell the cleark that I was unable to find the attorney and I'm going to wait my turn in courn front of the judge to find out what is going on. 10:45 am comes by and other then the two people front of the judge I'm the only one in the room. Cleark asks me what im waiting for so I tell them my case # and cleark tells me that my case is over and it was dismissed. So im kinda stunned since I been sitting in the courtroom for 1h 45min at this point and the cleark tells me that my case was called by her and th