• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ex does not want to pay

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

natalia21

What is the name of your state? Indiana/ Florida

Ok, let me just appologize in advance that this is going to be kind of a LONG STORY...but, I have NO experience whatsoever in the legal system, and have lots of questions!

I guess where the whole thing starts is March of '04 my then boyfriend was going through some financial hardships, but was also attempting to get a new apartment at the time, so at that time I helped him to get an apartment (security deposit, 1st month's rent, etc.) but I was given his word that he was going to pay me back ASAP. (I was not on the lease at all though, and I had a place of my own)

Soon after he asked me to help him out by loaning him some money $2500 to pay off a previous debt. Considering I was still in school at the time, I definitely did not have the extra cash just laying around (and still don't, being a teacher) but, he convinced me to use a Convenience check from my credit card, to give him the loan. So I have record of the transaction on my credit card, and from the deposit into my bank account, and then... if I can get access to it, I could show the deposit into his bank account (I think it was in the form of a cashiers check). Again, he said he was going to pay me back ASAP - and kept saying that he was working a lot and workin OT etc, so it wouldn't take long...when I agreed to loan him the money I mentioned to him that he would also be responsible for the interest which was 3.9% for the transaction.