• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

follow up materialman's lien with small claim?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

stripedybird

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Texas

I am a roofing contractor, and filed a lien on a home where we did a roof replacement. The job required more material than the scope agreed on by the insurer, contractor, and homeowner. This was anticipated, insurer said to go ahead with job and file a supplemental claim after completion (this is standard procedure, by the way). Homeowner was advised, verbally stated that he absolutely wanted to replace the entire roof (a porch had not been included in insurer's estimate). After job was complete, homeowner stated total satisfaction, praised us as an out-of-town company better than the local companies, and we filed the supplemental claim ($1.300) with documentation. The insurer approved, issued a supplemental report and additional payment to homeowner. Homeowner decided not to pay us (stated "I just think I've paid you enough").

We filed lien with the county (Lamar County, TX), sent certified notice (he refused delivery), and have written and faxed him asking for payment, but he will not respond or take phone calls.

This man holds a very prominent position in a smallish town. The town (where the subject property also is located) is 2 hours away. We are based in Collin County TX. Contract was signed by him in Lamar County and faxed to our office.