• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hair Cut Fiasco

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

Lee_Requa

I live in Vacaville California, I am Deaf (though I do have a cochlear implant) and I had long hair. I went to a beauty salon to have 4 inches taken off the bottom of my hair and instead of just taking off the 4 inches she also took large chunks out of my hair. In some areas 18 inches of hair is missing. I loved my hair I had been growing it for 12 years and now it looks awful.

Can I take the beautician to small claims court and get some compensation for this mess?

Thank you in advance,
Lee

B

BB_Wolfe

I don't think that your being deaf has any bearing on this situation unless she chopped off your locks out of spite/envy of your condition...

And, since you couldn't verbally tell her what you wanted done, I assume you wrote it in plain english on a sheet of paper, what did that paper say?

Something is missing.

enjay

Lee, I hope it was just miscommunication and not pure spite. I don't know the legal answer to your question but I hope that you do have some recourse.

BB_Wolfe - most deaf people speak and do it quite well.

B

BB_Wolfe

Enjay~

I actually though of the speech part being wrong 1/100th of a second after I posted.. my bad.

L

Lee_Requa

First of all regarding my Deafness. I lost my hearing 3 years ago so I don’t sound like a Deaf person and I can articulate quite well. What I do have a problem with is understanding what people are saying I am able to lip read but I will admit it’s awfully difficult sometimes.