• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help! My ex girlfriend is suing me...verbal agreements

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Spoodox

What is the name of your state? California.

Hello, my ex girlfriend is suing me for $5,867. She's upset that we broke up so she wants
all this money back that she put on her credit cards over a 6 months period. She claims we had a "verbal agreement". We never did. I am 39, she is 22. I'm an established artist who's art has been published in 5 books, I've been interviewed in SPIN Magazine (I'm in the current issue and last issue), I've been to Europe 5 times for art shows etc...The only reason I say this is I need to establish that I wasn't some deadbeat who was living off this young girls credit cards. She lured me into moving to Oakland from LA with sweetness and fake love. I was to be the bread winner while she went to school at Berkeley full time. I have Paypal records showing I also paid tons of money. She has burned me several times like sold the car I paid $2,000 down on and I paid the rent and the deposit on the apartment. I paid for most everything and you don't see me trying to sue her for money I spent based on some fictitious "Verbal agreement". She has lots of receipts showing she bought and paid for stuff and she did but in a relationship when all is well people spend money for the cause. She has not had a job the whole time we've been together so now she's desperate for money because she's racked up a bill. I have my Paypal and Bank records also showing tons of dough going out. Can she win? Am I screwed?:(

Spoodox

Hmmmmmmm