• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Helping a friend backfired, what now?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wesset23

What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania

Back in December, I loaned a friend of mine about $400 so she could take a nursing class. I was inclined to help her get started on her new career path by loaning her this money out of my savings. It was verbally promised to me then that she would pay me back from her next few paychecks. To put this borrowed amount in perspective, I'm a graduate student, so $400 is more than I make in a month or just shy or two month's rent.

As soon as I went on Christmas break, she quit her job, then got turned away by a potential employer, then was taking care of her father after his car accident, then refused to get a job, then ran off to West Virginia with a man she met on-line, had been working as a painter for the past two months and now is pregnant. After many blow offs, broken promises to pay and failed attempted at working out payment plans, I'm at a loss.

To make this long and frustrating story as simple as possible, she and I agreed to sign a contract in May for her to pay by this upcoming August 1st. In the contract she agreed to pay the money in full by that date and agreed to cover all court costs should the case of her debt be taken to court. The contract had two signing witnesses.

Now she's asking for an extension. While I feel sympathy for her current situation, the fact remains that she was negligent in paying this debt for over seven months. I have a feeling I will not be seeing this money before the agreed upon date and am wondering what to do next.

Any sound advice would be appreciated.

Maiasaura