• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How is a legal entity served?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

small.claim

Hello everyone,
I want to file a small claim. I have never done this before. I overpaid for medical services, and just cannot get the reimbursement.

I went to the small claim court and started to complete the form, but came across a question.

If I indicate as the defendant, the doctor's company name, as ex:"A.Smith DMD and Associates PL" and the physical address of the practice, how are they going to serve them? Are they going to just sign the certified mail by whoever is going to be at the desk office? Is this considered as served?

I will be glad to hear any suggestions.
Thank you

FlyingRon

You need to have answered the question, what state are you in.

Corporations have a registered agent. Professional Limited Liability Companies are typically served at their place of business and received by a member who is in charge of that office.

swalsh411

When you say you overpaid do you mean you were sent a bill for $1000 but inadvertantly paid $2000, that you believe you were charged for services you either did not receive or did not need, that you were overcharged beyond what is reasonable, or something else?

small.claim

You need to have answered the question, what state are you in.

Corporations have a registered agent. Professional Limited Liability Companies are typically served at their place of business and received by a member who is in charge of that office.
ex: "A.Smith DMD and Ass. P.C." Does this mean, that the person who brings the certified mail is going to ask the "front desk" ladies:"Who is in charge of this office?"