• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Missing DVD Case

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

PatG

I am a college student at Ohio University in Athens, Ohio. Three weeks ago, my Japanese Culture organization had a movie showing in one of our lecture halls, and I brought my case of DVDs with me to show some material. I left the DVD case there, but did not notice until this week because I rarely have time to watch movies. I went back to the hall and asked the custodial staff if the case had been found, since they come in and clean immediately after our showing ends. The lady in charge told me they had been found, and that her friend with a steel-clamp mind knew where they were.

When she called me the next day, she told me the DVDs were not there. I asked where they had been put, and she said that her friend had put them in a custodian closet which only the staff had access to. From there, she gave me two suggestions:

1. The staff did not lock up the closet
2. Maybe her friend had left them in the room, knowing we would be back a week later.

The first seems very negligent on their part, the second contradicts with her earlier statement that her friend had taken them and put them away safely. I filed a report with the campus police, and the officer phoned me yesterday and explained that he had told the staff that if any of them were holding information, they needed to tell him before "things went any further."