• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need to vacate a judgment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jeepgirrl

What is the name of your state? Virginia

Aloha. I live in Hawaii. I have a long story, but the bottom line is that there is a default judgment of about $600 against me in Virginia. It appears on my credit report and I am getting ready to buy a house, so I need it off. The situation with the plaintiff became quite adversarial and personal so I'm not too interested in paying the judgment.

There are several possible avenues I believe I could pursue to get this cleared up if I knew what I was doing. I'm not a lawyer, though, so I don't.

My latest thought is this: I sent the plaintiff some papers (not a payment, but she doesn't know that). I tried to reach to her two different ways, by using a service company and by certified mail, but she avoided the service and did not claim the mail. Can I use this to claim that I am unable to pay the plaintiff because I cannot reach her despite my best efforts to do so?

dcatz

Can I use this to claim that I am unable to pay the plaintiff because I cannot reach her despite my best efforts to do so?

To have the judgment vacated? No, you cannot. Until you are ready to pay the judgment or able to have it vacated, that is probably the extent of the information that can be provided.

Ozark_Sophist

Why would you want to spend a couple thousand dollars in legal fees and court costs in an attempt to avoid a $600 judgment? Pay up.

jeepgirrl

To Ozark_Sophist, I was hoping this is something I could clear up myself without bringing an attorney into the mix (due to the high cost).