• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Payment dispute with tile installer

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Andrew11AZ

Payment dispute

I am a realtor and do fix n flip properties. I have various crews that I use for labor on jobs and this one crew in particular did some tile work for a seller on her personal property. She allowed access to the home for the workers to do the work. Her camera system from cox had one camera in a back bedroom. Using the camera system she was alerted that the camera was unplugged. I talked to them and asked them why it was unplugged ( at the time all she told me was it had loss of power) it was in a room that was all carpet and the installers did not have any work to do in this room. I plugged it back in and power was restored. This was their last day on the job. Later that night, the property owner discovered that the camera was showing a blank screen.

The job was finished and the installers were paid in full

I picked up a new property to flip and had the tile guys start doing the tile work on that property. After they had started the owner of the previous property said she had tvs missing from her house. Her camera and security system showed that entry was later in the evening the night of the camera being unplugged. It also showed the tile helper had originally unplugged the camera in the day time and that he entered that room at night with a sheet over himself and covered the camera using that. Tvs were being stored in that room while people were there doing work and were stolen at that time. This was the only unauthorized access time that her security system registered.