• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Property adandoned

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

thecapt

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? IL
A friend asked me a while ago if he could store his friends snowmobile in my garage for a bit. I said fine just not forever. Well it's been a year and half now and I have been telling him for 4 months that I want his buddy to get the snowmobile out of my garage. It still hasn't been removed and I informed him last week that if it's not removed by Saturday 12/3 that I was going to push it out onto the curb.
1) can I legally do that since I've given ample time to remove the snowmobile?
2) Can it be concidered abandoned and I keep it for myself since it's been a year and half?
3) If I putt it on the curb for anyone to take and someone does, can he sue me for anything?
4) Can I start charging him storage cost if it's not removed?
Please help.

Last edited:

Antigone*

A friend asked me a while ago if he could store his friends snowmobile in my garage for a bit. I said fine just not forever. Well it's been a year and half now and I have been telling him for 4 months that I want his buddy to get the snowmobile out of my garage. It still hasn't been removed and I informed him last week that if it's not removed by Saturday 12/3 that I was going to push it out onto the curb.
2) Can it be concidered abandoned and I keep it for myself since it's been a year and half?
3) If I putt it on the curb for anyone to take and someone does, can he sue me for anything?
Please help.