• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Publisher Unwilling to Pay

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

JTaylor

What is the name of your state? CT.

I am a freelance artist, that produced work for a small press publisher out of New York state.

There was an NDA, and contract for my services. Payment for these services was not forthcoming. Not just to myself, but to several other freelancers (at last count, 20) across the country. But I will inquire only regarding my own situation. Promises of payment were made, then threats of legal action for my "going outside the NDA", which did not occur, other then the fact I openly spoke how this person had not paid me. Anything in regards to the publishers IP, storylines, were never disclosed. The publisher had accepted my work, had used it for promotional materials and website content for his purposes. This person has a chronic history of calling upon his lawyer (which now has grown to two separate law firms working these issues), usually causing the aggrieved talent to back down. However, when confronted for a name or contact information for said lawyer, so as to resolve the issue, none is given. Instead, it's a barrage of threats (some physical), taunts, and delaying comments of "you will find out soon enough".