• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Roomate owes us money. (!!HELP!!)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

marvinutrera

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia

Hey guys, Im in a deep issue right now that I want to get out of the way, and need help with in case it might need to be taken care of in small claims court. I want to know if I can actually take this to the small claims court, and how should I go about it if I could?

So basically, Im a 19 year old student that decided to room with 3 others, in a 1 bedroom, 1 den, and a 2 bathroom apartment. Like many others, the issue of someone not paying rent comes up. This is just ONE of my roommates in particular, from the beginning even to the present, he has failed almost every single month to pay on time, and recently, he didn't pay for the past month of march, and we were on the brink of getting evicted. Between me and my other 2 roommates we decided to pay off the part of the rent that was leading us to the eviction, which was around 463, cant remember the exact amount right now. We then decided to sign a roommate release form, although he owed 614.71 for this month, all 3 of us went through it and this is where the problem arises. The fact that we signed the roommate release form means that he legally has no claim over the apartment, meaning that he is not responsible for the 614.71 that he owes, and instead that 614.71 is our responsibility which all 3 of us find unfair. In a moral standpoint, he has stated that he would pay it, but has failed to do so over the course of a week, and tomorrow is his last day at the apartment according to the roommate release form. Meaning that after he leaves tomorrow,