• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Roomates suing for future rent. Do they have a case?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

alpha8911

I am located in Alachua County, Florida

I am a college student with no assets, less than $2000 to my name, no income or job, and have a leased car.

DETAILS:

I signed a joint-lease with 3 other housemates.

No guarantor was included, and there are 3 other names besides mine on one standard lease.

After altercations that threatened my well-being and my personal property, I decided It was prudently responsible of me to move out of the house to ensure my safety:

**After being involved in roommate disputes that soon escalated, I made every attempt possible to make amends, which resulted in a rise in violence against me:

1) I was verbally threatened and told that I "was going to be put in the ICU" on multiple occasions

2) I returned from a weekend away to find that my bedroom door had been kicked in in an attempt to destroy my personal belongings (luckily I had padlocked the door in foresight of such an event). I filed a police report and there are charges of criminal mischief, misdemeanor against one of the housemates (October 17th)

3) I contacted the landlord on multiple occasions and informed him of the issues; he would not intervene, expect to post notices of non-compliance, for drug use, loud noise, and animals in the house- on behalf of my housemates. He told me that we should work out our personal issues, and that we were all jointly liable for the damage sustained to my bedroom door.

* I have saved the dates and duration of all phone conversations with the landlord.