• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Serving Papers - VA

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ofield23

What is the name of your state? Virginia
I am an independent contractor and I am suing a company we worked for. They did not pay for work done. He doesn't deny that the work was done, and actually won't answer phone calls, emails, etc.

The funny thing is he is a wedding photographer, so he can't very well hide.

We have his old address (we think it is old), and we mailed summons through certified mail, but he won't pick it up.

The day after we mailed it, I found out that in Virginia anyone over 18 years old not involved with the case can serve papers. My question is the following?
Do we have to talk to the court about redoing the summons if we want to pursue this direction?
If we set up a sting operation with a friend to pretend to be a prospective client and then serve him, is there anything illegal with that?
Is he served once he accepts the papers in hand, touches him, etc.? Does he have to sign anything?
Does the person who served him have to sign an affidavit or something and by when?

I would really appreciate any responses, as this is the first time I am using this forum

dcatz

Do we have to talk to the court about redoing the summons if we want to pursue this direction?

You just need an additional copy of what you first received, and you need to serve it in a timely manner.

If we set up a sting operation with a friend . . . is there anything illegal with that?

It’s not illegal, but it seems melodramatic and probably unnecessary, if you have a valid address and adequate time.