• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Slander and Defecation of Character

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

ken12

slander and defemation of character

I am a editor for my high school newspaper and recently I wrote an article about a local reporter from our cities newspaper,Rockfor,IL. In the editorial I wrote that I thought he favored a local high school more than the other schools and I was being sarcastic at some points but was basically stating my opinion. At the end of the article I wrote who I was talking about and said "He is supposed to report about all local prep sports but seems to favor Boylan." I feel that when I said that I showed that this column was me expressing my opinion and was ok to print. Now the person I wrote about is irate and is saying that I must interview him and retract my previos column and report about his education and professional experience. I was wondering if this man has any legal grounds for a law suit that he is threatening because he feels that I was questioning his ethics and education (which I wasn't).

JETX

Ken, first I would like to thank you for given me a great chuckle when I read your topic... "Slander and Defecation of Character". (Damn, almost fell out of my chair again just thinking about it!!!). The correct term is 'Defamation of Character', you might want to look up 'your' term. (Though from your post, your wording might be more accurate).