• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Small Claims - Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

alpine00001

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? South Carolina

I have a question about what steps I can take to recover money owed to me by an employer. I am a graphic designer and was employed by a marketing company to do work for them.

Background info: This company is owned an operated by one person, the owner.

To start off this man insisted that we handle it as contract work, so he would pay me for work I did. I completed several projects and he sold them to clients. He did not pay however, and told me he was going to employ me as a worker and give me a salary. I did some more design work for him, traveled around doing business work, and even drove him around in my car. He kept delaying paying me telling me he would the next week and so on. He also was slow on completing the paper work. During this time I kept doing work since he continued to promise he would not only pay me for the design work, but for the time I spent on business matters. I see this is not going well, so I tell him I want a written and signed agreement on how much and when he would pay me. He refuses to do it claiming that once he gets out of the whole he will square up with me and it will be all good. I told him that I wouldn't do any more work for him. Recently I was contacted by him and he told me he needed something done, and that when he got payed for it he would give me money. But, it ends in nothing again.

My question is, do I have any grounds to take him to small claims court?